DIY Message Boards
why replace paver sand

This topic can be found at:
http://boards.diynetwork.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9321916776/m/1813977267

Sep 06, 2012, 09:03 AM
RDH
why replace paver sand
Between heavy rains & ridding pavers of black mold/algae a lot of the sand has washed away. Couple of questions: 1) since they were layed well (about 3 yrs ago)and with very small gaps plus the outside ones are concreted down why should I replace the sand? 2) if replacing and power washing first any trick (besides being careful Smile)to keeping blown sand out of the pool? 3) if using polymeric sand do I REALLY need to remove ALL of the old sand as I've read? (sounds difficult to ensure)4) If wife still wants to seal can I seal over polymeric sand?
Sep 06, 2012, 09:22 PM
Nestor
RDH:

I'm no expert on paving stones, but I'll answer your questions according to my understanding. Hopefully others will chime in with their views.

1. You don't need to "replace" the sand, but it's a good idea to brush sand on your pavers periodically to keep the joints between them full of sand. That's cuz the rain and snow melt (if you get snow) and your power washer will gradually wash the sand out from between the paving stones. People think that one application of sand will last a real long time, but it doesn't. Give it a few years and gravity eventually wins and the sand falls out of the joints between the pavers onto the base below. That;'s why you need to maintain the paving stones by re-applying sand periodically, but I've never heard of actually replacing the sand. I don't even think it's possible to do that without taking all the pavers out and resetting them.