DIY Message Boards
Ceiling texture or Crown first?

This topic can be found at:
http://boards.diynetwork.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9221916776/m/9713908577

Dec 08, 2013, 09:05 PM
FlippinFritch
Ceiling texture or Crown first?
I'm remodling a house but I did everything backwards. I have the floors in, walls painted, popcorn ceiling scraped and the wainscoting done. But now I'm not sure if I should do the ceiling texture or the crown in next. What do you suggest? I'm aware I should have started from the top down, ok, I'm a noob. But now I ask for help. HELP!

This message has been edited. Last edited by: FlippinFritch,

Dec 08, 2013, 09:12 PM
jdr
Texture first, then crown. But seriously consider smoothing the ceiling and skipping the texture.
Dec 08, 2013, 09:22 PM
FlippinFritch
quote:
Originally posted by jdr:
Texture first, then crown. But seriously consider smoothing the ceiling and skipping the texture.

I'm about to post some pitures and I like your idea so please follow this thread.
Dec 09, 2013, 08:37 AM
Sparky617
Second for forgetting the texture. Smooth ceilings are much nicer.

You took the time to get rid of the popcorn, why replace it with another texture?

General Disclaimer

Any advice given here is general in nature and is not necessarily valid for your given area. If in doubt check with your local codes enforcement department for what is required when doing electrical, plumbing or structural work on your house. Permits may or may not be required in your area and home owners may not be able to DIY some tasks. I have no way of knowing if you have the skills needed to complete the tasks you are asking about, when in doubt seek professional assistance.

My advice may be worth exactly what you pay me for it. :-) For the record I did not stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.
Dec 09, 2013, 03:08 PM
redoverfarm