All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  General Home Improvement    good or bad construction??
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

good or bad construction?? Sign In/Join 
        posted
        Whats wrong with this picture???one of my basement windows and yes those are floor joist's above.

basement window

Posts: 101 | Registered: Jan 15, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        posted Hide Post
        From the picture it looks like you have a lintel running across the window to carry the load, that would be good. To my experienced layman's eye I'd probably like to see a piece of steel angle iron carrying the load across the window as well. The concrete lintel may be enough. I'm not a structural engineer so don't go by my advice based on a 2x3 inch picture.

Your floor joists are engineered wood I-joists as is your rim joist. They can certainly carry the load. I can't tell if there are hangers connecting the I-joists to the rim joist, it does appear at this size picture to be some sort of metal connector there.

Since your home has I-joists we can assume it was built in the last 25 years or so and was likely inspected by the building department in the process.

My concern here would be why no insulation anywhere? Is your foundation insulated on the exterior? Is the basement conditioned or unconditioned space? Where are you located?

What are your concerns? Is there any cracking in the foundation? Does the window function easily? Is there excessive spring in your floor? Are there cracks or shifts in the structure above this opening?

General Disclaimer