All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  General Home Improvement    Wobbly toilet on newly installed tile
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Wobbly toilet on newly installed tile Sign In/Join 
        posted
        I am a rookie DIYer. This past weekend, I replaced the existing tile in our bathroom with the self-adhesive tiles from Home Depot. I just put the toilet back onto the closet main with a new wax ring and bolts. The bolts are securely tightened, but the toilet still has a wobble. I am clueless as to what could be causing this or what I can do to correct it.

I wish I could provide more information to you guys, but as a rookie, I really don't know what information would be pertinent.

Thanks in advance!

Posts: 1 | Location: Long Island, NY | Registered: Nov 04, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        posted Hide Post
        the floor is not level. there is something under one or more tiles, assuming the toilet ever was non-wobbly. the only alternate explaination is you have a bolt that isn't grabbing the ring any more.

get a level, and level the toilet. now look for gaps. you will probably find them. the high spots are where the trouble is.

you can "fix" that temporarily with plastic shims, but they will knock out as people sit on the can in random non-controlled ways, and when the floor is cleaned. but shims are not a fix-fix. the high spots have to be eliminated, and the toilet has to settle down level on a level floor, otherwise you are absolutely going to have it gap at the ring and loose water at the end of every flush (on a slightly uneven floor.)

a 4-foot level is your friend when doing floors. your best friend.

whatever happens, the toilet has to come up to fix it.