All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  General Home Improvement    Please help with ductwork connections
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Please help with ductwork connections Sign In/Join 
        posted
        Greetings on this Memorial Day,

I need to add return duct-work to an addition (approximately 14' x 20') that is on a slab. The original house (a ranch) has a basement, so the heating and air conditioning duct-work goes up from the basement to the attic crawl-space and then down to the addition. It's not ideal, I know. The addition does not heat/cool very well, so I think (hope) that adding a return vent will help.

It will be a challenge and I've never done duck-work before. The most limiting factor is a wall cavity that is a scant 3 1/4" x 12 1/4". Here's a picture of that cavity Restrictive wall cavity to house return air duct. Currently, there is a return vent in our hallway that occupies that wall cavity and the cavity next to it (there is another pair of cavities on the other side of the hallway, but that is a bearing wall). A guy in a building supply store recommended that I use an oval duct for the cavity that I want to use.

Beginning at the room addition, this is the route I'm planning to take:
        > Large (14" x 14") grill in the sidewall of a closet.
        > Up 8', through a normal 2 x 4, wall to the attic crawlspace.
        > West 4' (to accommodate truss bracing) in the attic crawlspace.
        > North 19' in the attic. I'd like to use large, round, duct to minimize resistance.
        > East 5' in the attic.
        > Down 9' in the restrictive cavity to the existing return.

Here are my questions: