DIY Message Boards
Grading & Drainage

This topic can be found at:
http://boards.diynetwork.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/8421916776/m/3193915967

Apr 07, 2013, 04:55 PM
dwmattocks
Grading & Drainage
Five years ago my family and I bought a new home. The builder did a very poor job of grading the yard which over time has created major water problems. To compound this, he came and put in a "French Drain". Well, not really. This drain is made from NON corrugated pipe, 8". He tied in the down spouts and put "Deck Drains" in the yard that are supposed to divert the standing water into this pipe.
He is no longer licensed and does not do business in this area. However I have been fighting a losing battle with this water since 2007. I get water from the house above me, and my front yard is lower than the street. When it rains we have a pond in the front yard that eventually runs the water across my driveway. I have asked for estimates from a number of contractors and they have varied from $2000, to $4000 and up to $15,000. I don't know who to believe, and really don't have any idea how to undo the problems that this has caused. I need some advice. How do I correct this?

Dave M
Apr 08, 2013, 05:28 PM
GardenSprite
Sorry to hear of the ongoing problems with drainage. Sounds like a really frustrating situation.

I'm wondering if your state has any kind of fund to which builders must contribute to compensate victims for builder errors.

Also, besides water in the driveway and yard, is there any damage to the house which might be covered under your homeowners' policy?

Is your home the only one in the subdivision with this problem?