All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  Kitchen    finally redoing the kitchen - tell me your "favs"
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

finally redoing the kitchen - tell me your "favs" Sign In/Join 
        posted
        I am ripping my kitchen out to the walls and redoing floor to ceiling, including all new appliances, except range and hood. I've never done a whole kitchen before. I've read several books and talked with my cabinet guy and a general contractor (both clients) and watched a ton of DIY and This Old House. My kitchen size is not huge and my small house requires that I maximize storage.

What I'm wondering is, if you've done a kitchen lately what one or two things are you very glad you did and what would you not do again? I appreciate any advice or help.

Posts: 2488 | Registered: Apr 11, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of Jaybee
        posted Hide Post
        Good: Soft close drawers (especially if there are any young kids in the house)
        Good: Side by side ref /ref with pull-out freezer below. Just seems to work well.
        Good: Faucet where sprayer attachment is part of the regular nozzle, not a separate faucet on the side.
        Good: In-sink soap dispenser.
        Bad: Low voltage "hockey puck" task lighting. Transformers only last 6 to 9 months.
        Comment: Spend the extra money and get a high-end dishwasher. Much, much quieter.
        Good: Deep sink, undermount if possible
        Good/bad: Go for solid surface tops. If budget decrees laminate, get custom made directly from a countertop manufacturer. Do not buy laminate slabs from big box stores as those few edges will deteriorate in time.
        Comment: Light! Lots of light

Jaybee