All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Building  Hop To Forums  General Home Building    Roof trusses
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Roof trusses Sign In/Join 
        posted
        hello everyone, i'm an attorney and former civil engineer, and i'm in the very early stages of planning a home build. despite my engineering background, there's a world of information that i don't know about home building. (i designed a lot more bridges than houses.)

i've read that you should try to keep the out-to-out width of a house to 32' because standard roof trusses only cover that span. this seems VERY limiting in building a new home, and it feels like one of those "that's how it used to be" kind of things. thoughts?

Posts: 6 | Registered: Jul 03, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        posted Hide Post
        "standard" means "stocked or availiable in 1-2 days." your lumberyard can order custom trusses in any practical width and a number of slopes. generally the designs to specific deadweight loads are already in the supplier's computer with engineering details availiable for your permit authority, and all they have to do is make space in the build schedule to nail 'em up and ship them out.

knowing the details, your architect can double them up in plans if needed for any exceptional circumstance, such as local requirements for loading that are higher than the national recommendations.

really custom stuff, like load bearing above and below for things like equipment sheds that will have track hoists on them, are going to take longer, and will need your architect to work with your engineer, whose plans go to the truss builders, who then engineer in their system and make your special trusses. definitely non-stock, but with time and money, you can generally get anything built.