DIY Message Boards
How do you become a home builder?

This topic can be found at:
http://boards.diynetwork.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/6221916776/m/6603980077

Apr 26, 2013, 06:25 PM
raiderpower
How do you become a home builder?
I have really been searching for my passion lately and I think that building homes may be it. I have worked in the building materials supply industry for the past 8 years and residential construction has always piqued my interest very much.

I would like to keep my full time job and maybe start small and work on the side until I am able to afford to do it full time.

Are there any home builders on here that have any suggestions on the best way to start? Any advice would be appreciated.
Apr 27, 2013, 10:44 AM
Sparky617
I'm not a professional builder but I too tried working a full time job and doing a side job twice. I'm a slow learner ;-)

You will quickly tire of working a 40 hour job and then working on your side jobs. Your clients will also want their projects done faster than you are physically able to complete them. In my case I built two screened porches for friends. I under bid the jobs, I more than covered the materials but on an hourly basis I probably earned minimum wage for my time. Even knowing I was working full time and putting in many hours on the projects the clients still grew impatient at the pace. A skilled contractor would have finished the jobs up in less than a month. It took me 3 to 4 months of working every weekend and burning through some vacation. A rainy weekend can be a huge setback when you can only work on weekends.