All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Hobbies & Crafts  Hop To Forums  Woodworking    Want to build a wooden entertainment stand
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Want to build a wooden entertainment stand Sign In/Join 
        posted
        Hello, for my mothers birthday I want to build a new piece of furniture that will be used to hold sound system, Blu-Ray player, and a cable box.
        It's not going to be real big, but I would like to add four wheels to the bottom to make it easy to move when cleaning.
        I have some experience with woodworking, but not much. It was chosen to use pine-wood as she found a stain she really likes and the sound system(heaviest item) will be on the bottom. The second heaviest item, the cable-box, will be on top.
        I have experience with cutting, sanding, and painting as well as building things were purchased from IKIA and other places. Some needed to have holes drilled, and I have done that as well.
        In addition, I am aware that I will need at least two grits of sand paper, probably a medium and a fine.
        From what I have seen, I should be able to simply use a wood-glue and nail combo to assemble this. I'll either need to put some notches in the side for the shelf or put in some brackets.
        The stain I will be using is the Minwax Oil-based chestnut wood finish.
        Is there any advise that can be provided for a beginner or anything major I forgot?

Posts: 7 | Registered: Apr 13, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of Jaybee
        posted Hide Post
        The biggest thing I didn't see you mention is how you are going to make your cuts. A circular saw is a must. For tight joints, you'll need some kind of guide to keep cuts straight.

Jaybee