All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Hobbies & Crafts  Hop To Forums  Woodworking    Poly scratching off...
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Poly scratching off... Sign In/Join 
        posted
        I think I got some terrible advice... I'm hoping someone will have an easy fix for me!

I am brand new to staining and took on my first project after seeing the work a friend did on her kitchen cabinets. I purchased a gel stain and Minwax water based poly (semi-gloss), at the suggestion of the salesperson at the store. Using a fine grit sandpaper, I sanded the existing finish off of my bathroom cabinets and got started on the stain.

The staining was easy, it went on great with three coats (I waited at least two days between each coat) and I had no issues. Then it came time to apply the poly. The salesman said that I really didn't need to sand again before applying the poly (mistake #1?). As I was applying the first coat, I noticed that it didn't look quite right... It didn't look like it was going on very even and seemed to "separate". Being new to all of this I assumed this was normal and went on to apply three total coats, waiting a day between each (again, not sanding between each, per the salesperson). After the third coat it looked much better and had an even finish to it.

Once the final coat had been dry for two days, I went to put the cabinet doors back on. As I was lining up the doors, my nails brushed against the surface and scratched it right off. What!!!!! I lightly ran my nail across an inconspicuous spot and again, the poly scratched right off with little effort.

I am at a loss. What can I do to fix this? These cabinets are in a high traffic bathroom and will ultimately get scratched to death unless I can get this fixed!

Any advice would be appreciated!