All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  Electrical    Light on fan out, replaced still out
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Light on fan out, replaced still out Sign In/Join 
        posted
        I was hoping someone could help me out here. I'm not an electrician by any means but can handle basic stuff like installing ceiling fans and outlets etc. having an issue with lights not working on a ceiling fan...

Few weeks back, I replaced the bulbs in the light kit on my fan. I must have put the incorrect wattage in because within a second or two of turning it on, the lights blew. I replaced the bulbs with the original wattage and got nothing. So I figured the light kit burned out. Got a new light kit, hooked it up, nothing.

Also of note: this fan is controlled by two wall switches, one for the fan only, and one for the light only.

Next I replaced the entire fan. Didn't really like the original fan and was hoping this would solve my problem. Got the new fan wired and installed. Turned it on. Fan works, light still doesn't work. Here's my ultimate question...

I wired it per the directions for dual switches, one for fan one for light. In thinking that something may be bad with the wall switch and/or wiring for the light, if I rewire it to be controlled by only one switch, could that do the trick? Essentially bypassing the light switch and just having one wall switch to control the fan and light? I just want the damn light to work! It's in my living room and I'm tired of lighting it with a bunch of lamps. Thanks y'all.

Posts: 4 | Registered: Aug 27, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of CommonwealthSparky
        posted Hide Post