All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  Electrical    generator wiring
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

generator wiring Sign In/Join 
        posted
        so ya, i'm a bit of an amateur electrician... i know what i can do and i know what i can't do...

i've got a cottage that has regular power failures that can last from minutes to days...
        i want to get a generator to support basic functionality...

i know that the 'right' way is to get a transfer switch installed, etc, etc...
        but, since it is just a cottage, i don't want to invest too much into it...

my understanding is this:
        -city power goes down
        -i open main breaker to disconnect house from grid
        -power up generator
        -plug generator in to 120v house plug (this will light up one side of the electrical panel)
        -or, plug generator in to 240v house plug (which will light up the whole electrical panel)

obviously, load and capacity is an issue, but right now i am just trying to confirm that my logic is correct or incorrect...
        any electricians out there that can comment?

thanks in advance

Posts: 2 | Registered: Dec 08, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of Jaybee
        posted Hide Post
        Your logic is correct until you get to the point of having the gen power up by back feeding through either a 120 or 240 circuit. While you may get voltage your power will be limited by size of the individual circuit.