All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  Painting    painting alum ball bat
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

painting alum ball bat Sign In/Join 
        posted
        I bought a used alum. Softball bat for my daughter to use. Course its chipped and scratched, etc. I was thinking about sanding it down and repainting it. What kinda of prep work and type paint should I use? I was thinking of an enamel or epoxy appliance paint for a tough finish, but she wants it purple. I heard lacquer gives good hard coat, but I’ve never used lacquer before.

Posts: 215 | Registered: Feb 01, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of Conrad
        posted Hide Post
        Pro paint store will help.

I once painted aluminum walkers and canes (decoratively). I took a leg section to the local Sherwin Williams and they tested a few primers on the aluminum for me. It took a very stinky primer, but that was the key to the paint job. The top coat is very secondary.

Posts: 6861 | Location: Plains and Mountains | Registered: Sep 26, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of GardenSprite
        posted Hide Post
        Conrad, did you use stencils or was the art work done by free hand? Any photos you'd care to share? I'm trying to convince my 94 year old father to use a cane, post hip fracture, and had been trying to think of ways I could decorate it so it would be a showpiece or attraction instead of just an assistive device. I had been thinking of using some military decals, or gluing on some photos of WWII planes.

Posts: 1739 | Registered: Oct 06, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of Conrad
        posted Hide Post