All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  Cleaning    Household Cleaner with Bleach
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Household Cleaner with Bleach Sign In/Join 
        posted
        I know this may sound weird but I am new to cleaning with bleach. I was at work cleaning the work station with a cheap brand of cleaning solution. It is actually called Totally Awesome Cleaner with Bleach. Probably a dollar store find. No big deal. Question is, I was cleaning with it and one drop landed on my jeans. It has been about an hour and I haven't seen any change in color. How does bleach work? If it gets on dark clothes, how quickly does it change the color of the clothing?

Posts: 2 | Registered: Apr 26, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        Picture of Conrad
        posted Hide Post
        With regular full strength bleach, it is darn immediate, I would say. Having done so more than once. Your drop was probably diluted cleaner, and dried out before it affected the color dye.

Any product that says "with bleach" does not state the concentration of the bleach or how much is actually in the product. Diluted enough in the product (tiny amount of actual chlorine bleach) then no color change would be apparent, although the packaging can still say it has bleach.

It does not take very much bleach 1 part to 10 parts water to disinfect a kitchen counter, for instance. At that ratio, the fabric would need to be saturated and soaking for a time to get any lightening of it.

Posts: 6861 | Location: Plains and Mountains | Registered: Sep 26, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        posted Hide Post
        Thank you so much! Your response was very helpful!

Posts: 2 | Registered: Apr 26, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
        posted Hide Post