All Projects

TV Projects

What Do You Want To Work On?

What Activity Do You Want To Do?

Available Projects

Get Results

DIY Network /

Message Boards

DIY Message Boards  Hop To Forum Categories  Home Improvement  Hop To Forums  Windows, Walls & Doors    Weathersealing Windows and wall AC
        Go
        New
        Find
        Notify
        Tools

Weathersealing Windows and wall AC Sign In/Join 
        posted
        Hello folks,

I am a newbie to home DIY so please be gentle on me with this question. I have researched as much as I could but whatever I did was not upto the mark to serve the purpose, hence this post.

I live in a rented (thin walled) apartment just outside NYC. I have electric heating and my utility bill during winter time peaks to about $400/month. I maintain 60F at home, but now it is becoming a trouble for me. It is leading to health issue, so the physician has asked me to keep it at 70F and I can not afford to pay more utility bills, so I am looking for some measures.

The wall are thin as it is and I can not do anything about it. The windows are single paned and must be a MAJOR source of heat leak. I plan to seal the windows with the film and hoping that it will serve the purpose.

One window, kitchen window, particularly is a menace. This window leaks and the water seeps inside. The Window looks like this from outside
        [img]http://s6.postimage.org/ybubhi05t/2013_12_19_15_05_53.jpg[/img]

The inside shots are
        [img]http://s6.postimage.org/ffomxnya9/2013_12_19_14_48_16.jpg[/img]

[img]http://s6.postimage.org/llq34es7l/2013_12_19_14_48_27.jpg[/img]

[img]http://s6.postimage.org/yra6o9bgx/2013_12_19_14_49_02.jpg[/img]

The last images show some area where the water leaks and eventually freezes (so we can not open the window during the winter period.